A Year in Review

Thanksgiving for me always seems to be a day for refelection. I think about all the things I’m thankful for and the events of the past year. This one has been one for the books for sure. I’m sure some of you do not follow me on Facebook so I will recap. 

This year had been my first with ItWorks (a health and wellness line of all natural organic products) I fell in love with the products so I became a distributor.  This year I have lost close to 40 pounds using these products  (Here’s a pic from 2 months ago- I’m still a work in progress so no mean comments please)

These are older but I don’t have a recent photo. Ive toned up a little more since then. I spent another year marketing with John, and improving my craft. We had an amazing year but something else interesting happened this year. 

 I listen to a female speaker at a Chamber of Commerce event that really kind of shook my soul a little bit. It made me realize that’s what I want to do. I want to be a motivational speaker. I want to be a public speaker.  I like making other people feel good, and I like helping other people be successful.  I wanted to do it on a large scale, and be able to make money doing it. I want to utilize the skills that I have from business, from counseling, and from parenting and wrap it all up with a nice little bow. I feel like It Works really helped boost my confidence in my abilities. It helped me to stretch outside of my comfort zone. Also to know what it feels like to be with a supportive group of people who believe in you, and genuinely want you to succeed. Not like those backstabbing friends or co-workers that you might have. You know the ones that say, “yay good for you” but really they just want you to fail so that they can feel better about themselves. I mean people who really truly I want to lift you up. That give you the tools and resources to be better at what you do. After listening to Bonnie, I started listening to motivational speakers and coaches and audio books everyday. (For a large chunk of my day) I’ve been absorbing information and continuing to work on my mind set to move me in the direction I plan to go.

Tamara and #1 Wealth Coach JT Foxx

I attended a conference hosted by JT Foxx in Orlando, and was enamored. I further felt like this was where I wanted to be, and what I wanted to do in my life. 
That was just a couple weeks ago, but already the impact in my life has been pretty profound. I now have a social media network of over 2,000 people, and people that I’m talking to regularly from all over the world. Not only successful business people, but even more specifically- life and business coaches. People in the industry that I want to be in. Several of them have been very supportive, answered questions for me and are moving me in the general direction that I want to be. It’s said that the people you surround yourself with are those you become like. I think there may be some grain of truth to that. As I’ve continued to talk to these very successful business people, and these coaches, I have felt things shift in my mindset. 

While I’m getting closer and changing, I’m still very new to it. I am not the CEO of a huge company,  I’m not making millions of dollars,  I still work two jobs and still have to budget everything.  I’m creating content and building credibility in my business. In addition to that, for being a business person I don’t know if I’m particularly businesslike. Now I’m very aware that business people are changing, especially as the younger generations move up into the business world.  I feel like quite a bit of my thinking has to do with upbringing and mindset.

My past has been full of challenges. I’ve been on food stamps, I’ve moved back in with my parents, and I’ve always worked two to three jobs. I’ve lived in crazy debt, and relied on food banks. My younger years were rough. All of those things have made me a better person, and have given me a very unique perspective on what it takes to work hard and rise above it.

 I don’t believe in excuses, I don’t believe the bullshit. I’m going to be real straight  and real to the point with everybody I meet because I don’t have time for anything else. I’m also going to make sure that I give you the very most value for the amount of money paid.

This post ended up just being a crazy ramble but I needed to get it out of my head.  Maybe next Thanksgiving I look back on this post with fondness at my business launch and what a hot mess I was. I’ll be proud of myself for not giving up. 

Leave a Reply

